English

Liberty Common High School has a deep commitment to reflective engagement with the classical literary tradition and the life such reflection promotes. Our curriculum fosters careful reading, patient observations, and intelligent analysis. By providing historical and canonical context and by inviting serious discussion on the greatest works of literature, Liberty’s English program requires students to grow in skill and understanding.

DanteIn concert with Liberty’s emphasis on character education, the study of literature deals directly with the human condition and the importance of moral responsibility. Indeed, the intellectual humility required to submit oneself to the great writers of the past is itself a step toward forming good habits of heart and mind.

Liberty’s English Department offers courses in western literature, British literature, American literature, composition, speech, technical writing, journalism, and debate. The department also offers AP English Literature and Composition and AP English Language and Composition.

The English instructors at LCHS possess considerable knowledge and expertise. The combination of excellent faculty and rich curriculum has helped consistently produce top scores on the ACT, AP English exams, and Colorado’s various standardized assessments. More importantly, students graduate from Liberty with knowledge of the classics and high levels of verbal fluency and rhetorical skill.

See the student travel page to learn about our next trip to England and Ireland!

Additional information:

Instructors:

Dybzinski Jared Dybzinski
Email: jdybzinski@libertycommon.org
Phone: 970.672.5500

Hultin Lander Hultin
Email: lhultin@libertycommon.org
Phone: 970.672.5500

Scarlett Natalie Scarlett
Email: nscarlett@libertycommon.org
Phone: 970.672.5500

Blog Site
Mary Renstrom
Mary Renstrom
Email: mrenstrom@libertycommon.org
Phone: 970.672.5500

Tulius Jeremy Tullius
Email: jtullius@libertycommon.org
Phone: 970.672.5500

Class info

Lauren Calvert
Lauren Calvert
Email: lcalvert@libertycommon.org



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.